All Schouten & Nelissen websites
2/19/2024 | Competence

What is the ICF-certification?

What Is The ICF Certification

Coaching is playing an increasingly important role in personal growth and leadership. With that growing role, so does the need for reliable professional standards. One of the most widely recognized standards in the coaching community is the International Coaching Federation (ICF) certification. This article explains what the ICF is and exactly what ICF certification entails. From the basics to the different levels of certification.

What is the International Coaching Federation?  

The International Coaching Federation (ICF) is a global nonprofit organization for coaches and coaching. The ICF is dedicated to developing coaching professionals and the coaching profession by setting high standards in the coaching industry. It is the world's largest organization for coaches and provides educational and professional development programs, accreditation and certification for coaches around the world. The ICF sets ethical standards, provides guidelines for coaching practices and promotes the benefits of coaching as a powerful tool for personal growth, professional development and organizational advancement. With members in more than 140 countries, the ICF plays a leading role in promoting the integrity and effectiveness of coaching worldwide.  

What is an ICF certification?  

ICF certification refers to the certifications awarded by the International Coaching Federation (ICF). Earning ICF certification signifies that a coach has met the rigorous standards and competencies established by the ICF, including appropriate training, experience and adherence to ethical guidelines. ICF certification is recognized as a standard of excellence in the coaching industry and provides coaches with credibility and recognition within the profession. The advantage of certification through the ICF, is that it is recognized worldwide. 

Levels of ICF Certification  

There are several levels of ICF certification:  

  • Associate Certified Coach (ACC): Designed for coaches who have completed ICF-accredited training and have initial coaching experience with clients.  
  • Professional Certified Coach (PCC): Aimed at experienced coaches with several years of professional experience and extensive training according to ICF criteria.  
  • Master Certified Coach (MCC): Reserved for seasoned coaches who have demonstrated mastery in their field through extensive training and experience as PCCs.  

Within Competence, we offer several courses leading to these levels of certification. In the blog ICF requirements for certified coaches: How can you fulfill them? we explain to you exactly which ones these are and how to get your certification by attending these trainings. 

Read more on Co-Active Read more on ORSC
Share this blog

Our Coaching programs

9.1 (2.625 reviews)
Official License Partner of